Ferroelectrics Young Investigator Award

The UFFC Ferroelectrics Young Investigator Award recognizes the important contributions of young scientists/engineers in reference to their contributions to fundamental research, integration, application, or education. The award recipient receives $2,000 and a plaque. The recipient must be an IEEE UFFC member upon conferring of the award, and must be 40 years or younger, at the time of nomination.

The award recipient is chosen according to the following criteria: (i) contribution of the publication record (including patents) to the ferroelectrics community, (ii) impact of industrial research and development of ferroelectric applications, (iii) educational contributions to the ferroelectrics community, and (iv) participation in UFFC-S activities. Votes will be solicited by the Ferroelectrics Committee by email balloting.

Guidance for nominators: Nominators should submit a statement of nomination which includes justification for the nomination in context of contributions to the field and award criteria, as well as a nominee’s curriculum vitae or biographical sketch. It would be helpful for the statement or vitae to highlight the most important refereed published papers, patents, and/or impactful presentations at ferroelectrics meetings.

Please contact Prof. Roger Whatmore (r.whatmore@imperial.ac.uk) for further information and suggestions for candidates.


Pavlo Zubko – University College London

For his outstanding contributions to the experimental physics of ferroelectric superlattices, negative capacitance in ferroelectrics and flexoelectricity

Fei Li – Xi’an Jiaotong University

For his outstanding contributions to the fundamental understanding of relaxor ferroelectric - lead titanate single crystals and ceramics

Lane Martin – University of California, Berkeley

For his pioneering work on emergent behavior in ferroic thin films

Tadej Rojac – Institute Jozef Stefan, Slovenia

For his pioneering work on processing of chemically complex ferroelectric ceramics

Kyle Webber – Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)

For contributions to the understanding of mechanical, fracture and ferroelastic properties of ferroelectric ceramics

Dr. Jon F. Ihlefeld – Sandia National Laboratories

For significantly advancing the processing and integration science of thin film ferroelectrics for practical applications

Ronald G. Polcawich – U.S. Army Research Laboratory

For his oustanding contributions in developments of thin films and integration in micromechanical systems and devices

Nagarajan Valanoor – University of New South Wales

For his outstanding contributions in experiments and theory of nanoscale electromechanical phenomena in ferroelectric thin films and interfaces.

Geoff Brennecka – Sandia National Laboratories

For his pioneering efforts in the development of nano-scale material concepts that have led to next generation ferroelectric thin film materials and devices.

Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb

For her contributions in the field of piezoelectric films, as well as service to the IEEE UFFC society.

Hajime Nagata – Tokyo University of Science, Japan

For his contribution in development of lead-free piezoelectric ceramics, structural-property.

Shujun Zhang, Materials Research Laboratory, Materials Research Institute, The Pennsylvania State University, Pennsylvania, USA

For his contributions to piezoelectric crystals, focusing on the relationship between structure, properties, and device performance.

Jacob Jones – Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Florida, USA

For his outstanding contributions to the field of ferroelectrics using advanced in situ diffraction tools.

Sergei Kalinin – Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

For the development of scanning probe techniques and seminal contributions in understanding and controlling polarization switching in ferroeletric materials by piezoresponse force microscopy/spectroscopy on the nm scale, and deciphering switching mechanisms on a single defect level.

Yuji Noguchi – The University of Tokyo, Japan.

For his significant contributions to the growth, characterization, and defect engineering in lead-free ferroelectric/piezoelectric single crystals.

Jon-Paul Maria – North Carolina State University (USA)

For his contributions to the fundamental science that underpins the synthesis of ferroelectric thin films and for his research highlighting the relationship between processing, structure, and properties in thin film devices.

Paul Clem – Sandia National Laboratory (USA)

For his significant contributions to the integration of ferroelectric materials with non-precious metals and his substantial efforts in support of technical society meetings.

Stephen Streiffer – Argonne National Laboratory (USA)

For his significant contributions to the understanding of the structure and physical properties of ferroelectric thin films at the nanoscale.