IEEE Robert E. Newnham Ferroelectrics Award

The IEEE Robert E. Newnham Ferroelectrics Award recognizes investigators in the field of dielectric, piezoelectric and ferroic materials that have contributed significantly to the understanding of structure-property relations. The award is given at any stage of the career for an outstanding contribution or for overall contribution to the field during the career. The award is named in honor of Robert E. Newnham to recognize his leading role in understanding the relationships between structure and properties of materials and to honor him as a scientist, teacher and an advisor to numerous researchers and engineers. A single annual recipient receives an award of $2,000 and a plaque and certificate. In unusual circumstances if two recipients are selected, each recipient will receive a plaque and certificate, and the awardees will evenly share the honorarium. The recipient must be an IEEE UFFC member upon conferring of the award.

The award recipient is chosen based on contributions to the field covered by the award, and how those contributions have resulted in measurable impact.

Guidance for nominators: Nominators should submit a statement of nomination which includes justification for the nomination in context of contributions to the field and the award criteria, as well as a nominee’s curriculum vitae or biographical sketch. 

Please contact Prof. Roger Whatmore ( for further information and suggestions for candidates.


Ian Reaney – University of Sheffield

For his outstanding contributions to our understanding of structure-property relationships in piezoelectric and microwave dielectric ceramics and the translation of this knowledge into practical applications.

Beatriz Noheda – Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials

For her outstanding contributions to the understanding of the giant piezoelectricity in lead zirconate titanate and ferroelectric relaxors, based on her discovery of their low symmetry phases

Zuo-Guang Ye – Simon Fraser University

For his seminal contributions to understanding and applying crystal chemical fundamentals in Pb-based piezo crystals

Dragan Damjanovic – EPFL, Switzerland

For his seminal contributions to the understanding of domains and structure-property relationships in ferroic materials

Ahmad Safari – Rutgers University

For sustained and impactful contributions in structure-property relationships of ferroelectric and piezoelectric ceramics, composites, and films

Prof. Susan Trolier-McKinstry – Pennsylvania State University

For her fundamental contributions and scientific leadership in structure-property relations of piezoelectric and ferroelectric materials, resulting in tremendous impact in the discipline