Cady Award

The W. G. Cady Award is to recognize outstanding contributions related to the fields of piezoelectric or other classical frequency control, selection and measurement; and resonant sensor devices.

The award nominating procedure may be found here.


Craig Nelson

For leadership in the design and development of state-of-the-art low noise oscillators and phase noise measurement systems

Serge Galliou

For pioneering the development of extremely high-Q cryogenic Bulk Acoustic Resonators for sensing, oscillators, and fundamental applications.

Enrico Rubiola

For ground-breaking contributions to noise analysis and signal-source theory, and experimental achievements in the electronic and photonic domains.

Ulrich Rohde

For pioneering research, development, and commercialization of signal generating and processing devices for commercial and scientific applications

Bernd W. Neubig

"For 40 years of contributions to the area of piezoelectric frequency control devices as a successful researcher, educator, and entrepreneur and the efforts in the international standardization of piezoelectric devices."

Ajay K. Poddar

For the analysis, design, and development of a host of frequency control products exhibiting state-of-the-art performance, including the development of extremely low noise crystal oscillator circuitry

Michael E. Tobar

For the development of high-Q resonators and low-noise devices with application to frequency control, precision measurement and sensing.

David Howe

For the analysis, design, and development of low noise, vibration-immune, and frequency stable frequency control devices.

Bikash K. Sinha

For theoretical advancements and innovations to the thickness-shear and surface-acoustic-wave based quartz pressure sensors, as well as outstanding contributions to borehole sonic technology in the oil and gas industry.

Georgy D. Mansfeld

For pioneering research in physical acoustoelectronics and acoustics, including acoustic resonance spectroscopy, attenuation mechanisms, piezoelectric properties of thin layers and films, and new acoustic materials.

John Hartnett

For the construction of ultra-stable cryogenic sapphire dielectric resonator oscillators and promotion of their applications in the fields of frequency metrology and radio-astronomy.

Sir Eric Ash

For the invention of SAW resonator technology which is widely used in duplexers for mobile telephony and for his devotion to educating electronic engineers throughout his life.

Daniel S. Stevens

For fundamental contributions to the theory and analysis of piezoelectric resonators, including the accurate description of subtle and complex nonlinear effects.

Jacques Detaint

For important contributions to the development and modelling of bulk-wave piezoelectric devices using quartz and new materials and for determining the interactions between vibration mode shape and defects

Clark T.-C. Nguyen

For pioneering research, development, and commercialization of timing and frequency control devices based on vibrating RF MEMS technology

Charles S. Stone

For outstanding contributions to state-of-the-art low noise quartz oscillators and low noise circuits


The W. G. Cady Award was not awarded in 2004

Kenneth M. Lakin

For outstanding and innovative work leading to the development of miniature, thin film resonator filters in commercially viable products

Eugene N. Ivanov

For the development of ultra-low noise microwave oscillators and pioneering research in the field of microwave circuit interferometry

David B. Leeson

For clear physical insight and model of the effects of noise on oscillators

Richard M. White & Clinton S. Hartman

For pioneering the early understanding of SAW devices.

Raymond L. Filler

For contributions to the fundamental understanding of acceleration sensitivity, hysteresis and the aging of quartz resonators.

Gary K. Montress

For outstanding contributions in the research, development, and implementation of precision SAW oscillators based on 'all quartz package' SAW devices

Michael M. Driscoll

For outstanding contributions to low noise signal generator technology.

Albert Benjaminson

For his contributions to quartz resonator sensors, quartz crystal oscillators, dual-mode oscillators, and computer-aided design of oscillators.

Jean-Jacques Gagnepain

For major contributions to our understanding of environmental and nonlinear effects, and pioneering results on 1/f noise in piezoelectric resonators.

Thomas E. Parker

For outstanding contributions to the theory and applications of high-precision SAW oscillators.

Hirofumi Kawashima

For outstanding contributions to Photolithographic miniature quartz crystal units with excellent temperature stability.

Raymond J. Besson

For fundamental contributions to both quartz resonator fabrication technology and understanding of nonlinear effects leading to devices of superior performance.

Robert C. Smythe

For contributions to the development of single and dual mode quartz resonators for filter applications.

John R. Vig

For outstanding contributions to the development of improved quartz crystals and processing techniques, significantly advancing the field of precision frequency control and timing.

Darrell E. Newell

For contributions to the development of the TCXO and for stimulation and education of students in the field of frequency control.

Baldwin Sawyer

For his work leading to the development of improved cultured quartz crystals, improved qualification techniques, and his tireless contributions to the frequency control industry.

Virgil E. Bottom

For contributions to fundamental theory and experiments, stimulation of growth of the industry, and education in quartz resonator technology.

Juergen H. Staudte

For his pioneering contributions to the photolithographic processing of quartz devices, especially the development and commercialization of quartz tuning forks for timekeeping.

John A. Kusters

For his contributions to the development of SC-cut and other doubly rotated quartz resonators.

Arthur W. Warner

For his contributions to the development of high precision quartz crystal units.

Errol P. EerNisse

For his theoretical prediction of planar stress compensation in doubly rotated quartz plate resonators leading to the realization of the SC-cut.