IEEE Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award

Title: IEEE Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award
[Note: Permission has been obtained from the widow of Carl Hellmuth Hertz to use his name for this award].

Description. The IEEE Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award is intended for primary investigators that have contributed to the field of ultrasonics. The award candidate has an excellent track record in terms of scholarly publications, technical reports and/or inventions/patents. The award is intended to recognize the investigators for their outstanding mid-career achievements and for promoting the field of Ultrasonics. This award was named for Carl Hellmuth Hertz to honor his pivotal role as both a researcher and as an advisor to others working in the field of medical diagnostic ultrasound imaging.

Administration. Administered by the IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society.

Eligibility. Awardees are required to be individuals who meet the following criteria:

  • IEEE member
  • UFFC Society member
  • Mid career – defined as no less than 10 years and no more than 25 years of research after obtaining the highest degree (Bachelors; Masters; PhD)
  • Remarkable contributions to the field resulting in measurable innovation and impact

Eligibility and selection processes for this award shall comply with procedures and regulations established in IEEE governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.

Prize Items. The following items will be given to the awardee:

  • Plaque
  • Certificate
  • 1,000 U.S. Dollar honorarium

This award is intended for a single recipient each year. However, in unusual circumstances if two recipients are selected, each recipient will receive a plaque and certificate, and the awardees will evenly share the honorarium.

Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award Nomination Requirements. Any person, including non-IEEE members, is eligible to serve as a nominator. The nominator cannot serve as a Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award Reviewing Committee member. All nominations must be submitted to the Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award Chair by March 1st. Nominees for this award will be solicited annually, via an e-mail, to all UFFC Society members. This solicitation will also be placed on the UFFC Society website. Details on award requirements and a nomination package will be included in these announcements. The recipient of the Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award will be announced and recognized at the opening session of the IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium.

Nominations for the Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award are aimed at individuals in small and large companies, government laboratories, and academic institutions. In recognition of the wide differences in the kinds of contributions that are central to the goals of each of these divergent components of our Ultrasonics community, a flexible two-page nomination format will be employed. The submission should begin with the name and contact information (email and telephone) of the nominator followed by the same for his/her nominee. The next entry should be a brief (one sentence or less) proposed citation that will accompany the announcement of the award if your candidate is selected. The remainder of the two-page submission may be used as the nominator chooses to highlight reasons that the selection committee should consider in evaluating the candidate. Suggested entries are 1) educational history, 2) professional history, 3) engineering, scientific, and technological contributions, 4) previous awards or other professional recognitions, and 5) A synopsis of the contributions that motivate the nominator to promote the candidate. Please identify which of the five groups of the Ultrasonics Symposium’s Technical Program Committee (Group 1: Medical Ultrasonics; Group 2: Sensors, NDE, and Industrial Applications; Group 3: Physical Acoustics; Group 4: MicroAcoustics – SAW, FBAR, MEMS; and Group 5: Transducers and Transducer Materials) reflects most closely the contributions of the candidate.

Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award Committee. An Award Chairman to oversee the nominating process is appointed by the Vice President of Ultrasonics. The Award Chairman has the responsibility to solicit nominations and to ensure a high-quality slate of nominees. The selection of the recipient for this award will be made by vote of the Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award Committee members representing a diverse range of scientific interests, backgrounds, and affiliations. The decision of the committee is final. If, in the opinion of the Committee, no suitable nominee exists, no award will be given.

Questions regarding Carl Hellmuth Hertz Ultrasonics Award should be addressed to:

Dr. Jafar Saniie, Filmer Endowed Chair Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Illinois Institute of Technology
Chicago, Illinois 60616
Phone: 1 312-567-3412


Elisa E. Konofagou

For contributions to the field of biomedical ultrasonic imaging, therapeutics, and advancing the field of elasticity imaging

Michael Tanter

For introducing multiple, ground breaking new medical ultrasound imaging technologies that have not only impacted academics but also industry

Vincent Laude

For substantial contributions to the physics of phononic crystals and of the interaction of sound and light.

James R. Friend

For his outstanding contributions to the invention, development, and clinical applications of elastography.

F. Levent Degertekin

For contributions to micromachined ultrasonic and opto-mechanical transducers, and high speed Atomic Force Microscopy.